If you want to delete messages sent on Signal, this can be done in a few easy steps. We show you how it’s done.
How to remove messages for both chat partners
If you have sent a message to the wrong chat partner on Signal, you can delete this message retroactively. It does not matter whether the message has already been read or not. You can tell whether a message has already been read or not by the check marks. If they are grayed out instead of white, your contact has read the message. The read confirmation is only active if you and your chat partner have not turned it off.
Time needed: 1 minute.
If you want to delete a message for both sides, it must not be older than three hours.
- Long tap on the corresponding message & select the trash icon
To delete a message, long tap on the corresponding message and select the trash icon in the top menu.
- Tap on “Delete for everyone”.
Tap on “Delete for everyone”. If this option does not show up for you, the message is too old and cannot be deleted.
- The message will be removed
Once you have done this, the message will be removed and be replaced by the message “You have deleted this message” on your phone. Your chat partner will see “This message has been deleted”.
Can you delete your another person’s messages?
Signal also allows you to delete messages sent by your chat partner. However, these only disappear from your chat history. In your contact’s chat history, the message will still be visible.
- To delete a message from your chat partner, long-press on it and tap the trash icon.
- Then select “Delete for me” and the message will disappear from your sight.
- You can also delete the entire chat history if you wish. To do so, go to the chat overview and long tap on the desired chat.
- Then tap the trash icon and select “Delete”.