If you want to delete a Facebook page, you can either take it offline permanently or just unpublish it and re-activate it later. Deleting a page is quite easy, but you can do it only if you are an admin of that page.
How to delete a Facebook page permanently
Time needed: 5 minutes.
In order to delete a Facebook (business) page, you must be that page’s admin. Bear in mind that you won’t be able to restore the page once the deletion process is completed. If you’re completely sure that you want to delete it, follow these steps:
- Open Facebook page
Open the Facebook page that you want to delete.
- Go to the settings
In the list on the left side of your screen, click “Settings” and then “General”.
- Find “Remove Page” option
In the middle section of your screen, scroll down to the bottom of the page. You’ll find the option “Remove Page”.
- Edit details
Click “Edit” and more details about this option will appear.
- Delete your page
Click “Delete …..” and then “Save Changes”.
- Your page will be deleted
Your page will be taken offline immediately, meaning that other users won’t be able to find or to see it. During the first 14 days after hitting “Delete”, you can still change your mind and restore the page.
- Confirm deletion
When the two weeks are over, you’ll have to confirm you want it to be deleted and your page will be deleted permanently.
How to unpublish a Facebook Page
Maybe you are not quite sure about what to do with your page, but you want it to be taken offline for a while. In this case, you have the possibility to unpublish it, meaning that only the page’s admin(s) will be able to see it. Other Facebook users won’t see the page anymore.
- In order to unpublish a Facebook page, you must be an admin of said page.
- Open the page that you want to unpublish. On the left side of the screen, click “Settings” and then “General”.
- In the middle section of the screen, the first option that you’ll see is “Page visibility”.
- Click the “Edit” icon for “Page visibility”.
- In the next step, check the option “Page unpublished” and then “Save Changes”.
- Facebook will ask you why you want to delete the page. Chose an answer from the list.
- If you check “Other” (and provide more information in the text box), you can then click the “Unpublish” button.
- If you chose one of the other answers, you can only click “Next”.
- In the next window, Facebook wants to know more details about your reason to delete the page. You can provide the information or not – either way, you can now click the “Unpublish” button.
- Your page will be deactivated and only you (and other admins) will see it. The page is invisible to other users and can’t be found in searches.
- If you want to reactivate it later, proceed as shown here, but check “Page published” instead of “Page unpublished”.